The Scandinavian Society for Cell Toxicology (SSCT) established the Björn Ekwall Memorial Foundation in 2001. 

The main goal of the BEMF is to honour the memory of Dr. Björn Ekwall by giving a reward to the scientists who have substantially contributed to the field of cell toxicology, e.g. by developing new in vitro tests, or via mechanistic or validation studies. 

Report from the SSCT-Swetox workshop 12-15 October 2015, Bommersvik, Järna, Sweden by A. Kolman och E. Walum

The BEMF board has selected Prof. Michael Balls from England asrecipient of the 2015 Björn Ekwall Memorial Award

Report from the 9th World Congress on Alternatives and Animal Use in the Life Sciences 24-28 August 2014, Prague, Czech Republic by A. Kolman and H. Tähtii

The BEMF board has selected Dr. Tuula Heinonen from Finland as recipient
of the 2014 Björn Ekwall Memorial Award

Frontiers in Cell Toxicity Testing: The 29th Workshop of SSCT 

Scandinavian Society for Cell Toxicology (SSCT) celebrated its 30 year activity.

Read more Update
Human in vivo database now on ACuteTox home page
The BEMF board has selected Prof. Per Artursson from Sweden as recipient of the 2013 Björn Ekwall Memorial Award

Read more


The Swedish Animal Friends National

Organisation is one of the most significant donators to the BEMF

Read more


Dr. Björn Ekwall (1940 -2000)